MEANWHILE WAY

Our Approach

Meanwhile Space CIC is the pioneering social enterprise at the forefront of Meanwhile uses, creating vibrant communities by bringing temporarily redundant space into productive use.

 

Meanwhile Space unlocks underused space for the benefit of community cohesion, placemaking and enterprise. This is typified by finding wasted space, transforming unloved visible, interesting, dilapidated, difficult buildings, into something useful.

 

People starting out struggle to find space to start and grow their creative or social enterprise. Meanwhile Space brings vacant assets into use for affordable and easy access space for startup enterprises, communities, and better places. 

 

Meanwhile Space’s model reduces the financial risk to individuals, which encourages entrepreneurship and reduces the financial burden for those who are financially excluded. This increases the time individuals can give to develop their enterprise without accruing big liabilities, and results in creating more jobs for themselves and others. This also increases the diversity of business and services, and the involvement of communities in their local area.

Our beneficiaries include seed and startup development stage businesses who require affordable space with flexible terms and support to thrive (or fail).

 And local communities in typically neglected areas, who gain from facilities, activities and services that improve community cohesion, skills and access to employment.

The following three processes define what is unique to Meanwhile Space projects:

  1. Unlocking underused space

  2. Extensive on the ground engagement

  3. Opportunity to flourish/fail

By 2017, Meanwhile Space had supported over 600 people into space and created 229 jobs in predominantly deprived town centre neighbourhoods. Our team has a proven track record in London Boroughs including Haringey, Waltham Forest, Brent, Lambeth, Lewisham, Sutton, Hillingdon, Croydon, Islington, Tower Hamlets and Southwark, as well as Hastings, working with multiple stakeholders in a considered and nurturing way to achieve maximum impact.

Download (PDF): An Introduction to Meanwhile Space

The Team

MeanwhileSpace 011.JPG
Emily 4.jpg

Emily Berwyn

Executive Director

emily@meanwhilespace.com

Eddie Bridgeman

Eddie Bridgeman

Executive Director

eb@meanwhilespace.com

DSC01862.jpg

Jen Storan

Senior Project Manager

jen@meanwhilespace.com

Alex Lauschke

Alex Lauschke

Senior Project Consultant

alex@meanwhilespace.com

IMG_1891.jpg

Louise Brooks

Project Director

louise@meanwhilespace.com

IMG_1899.jpg

Fernanda Huerta

Business Director

fernanda@meanwhilespace.com

Screen Shot 2019-01-24 at 16.59.12.png
Pete.jpg
MeanwhileSpace 022 (1).JPG

Ify Offiah 
Finance Manager

ify@meanwhilespace.com

Peter Baldwin

Property Director

pete@meanwhilespace.com

IMG_1872.jpg
IMG_1857.jpg
MeanwhileSpace 027.JPG

Diana Grisales

Project Director

diana@meanwhilespace.com

Avital Wittenberg
Senior Design Project Manager 
avital@meanwhilespace.com

Kinjal Patel

Property Operations Manager

kinjal@meanwhilespace.com

Khadija Abobaker

Office & HR Coordinator

khadija@meanwhilespace.com

IMG_1860.JPG
MeanwhileSpace 024.JPG
IMG_1851.JPG

Luellma Koranteng

Project Coordinator
luellma@meanwhilespace.com

Kieran Idle
Project Assistant
kieran@meanwhilespace.com

Amos Mambongo

Facilities Assistant 

amos@meanwhilespace.com

Untitled-1.png

Ikra Arshad

Marketing Coordinator

ikra@meanwhilespace.com

MeanwhileSpace 025.JPG

Mandy Hanley

Workspace Coordinator

mandy@meanwhilespace.com

IMG_1876.jpg

Barbara Guttierrez

Business Assistant 

barbara@meanwhilespace.com

MeanwhileSpace 028.JPG

Samar Zainu

Property Assistant

samar@meanwhilespace.com

MeanwhileSpace 026.JPG

Ellie Sillett

Project Coordinator

ellie@meanwhilespace.com

DSC01863.jpg

Linda Elliot 

Finance Coordinator

linda@meanwhilespace.com

IMG_1888.jpg

Alia Tolba
Project Assistant
alia@meanwhilespace.com

Certified Social Enterprise Badge - Circ

Recognition 

Willesden Green Shortlisted in the Great British High Street awards Rising Star category (2019) Queens Parade as contributor to Innovation category

NatWest SE100 Index (2019) Top 100 Social Enterprises

Finalist for the Hubble Office of the Future Awards (2019) Tripod, Brixton

RIBA London Award (2018) Central Parade, Walthamstow

Haringey Design Awards Best Regeneration Finalist (2018) Blue House Yard, Wood Green

New London Architecture Awards Meanwhile Use Commendation (2018) Blue House Yard, Wood Green

European Prize for Urban Public Space 25 Finalists (2018) Blue House Yard, Wood Green

MacEwen Award Commended (2018) Blue House Yard, Wood Green

Civic Trust Awards 140 Regional Winner (2018) Blue House Yard, Wood Green

WISE 100 (2017) Emily Berwyn, Director, Meanwhile Space

Estates Gazette Collaborators Award Finalist (2017) The Platform, Lougborough Junction

New London Awards Mayors Prize Winner (2017) Central Parade, Walthamstow

Waltham Forest Design Awards Winner, Most Creative Building Re-Use (2017) Central Parade, Walthamstow

BPF Tomorrow’s Leaders Innovation Award Winner (2017) Emily Berwyn, Director, Meanwhile Space

UK Social Enterprise Consumer Facing Award Finalist (2015)

DCLG’s Great British High Street Award Finalist (2014) Coming Soon Club, Wembley

SE100 Growth Award Finalist (2013)

Regeneration & Renewal Boosting High Street Vitality Award Winner (2012), Queens Parade, Willesden Green 

Luton’s Best Community Award Winner (2009), Luton

Our work on Meanwhile use was highlighted in The Portas High Street Review for Central Government as a way to help make town centres more vibrant places.

 

Our spaces have featured extensively in the media, including the BBC, Guardian, Evening Standard, Conde Nast, Architecture Journal, Time Out and Sunday Times.